SSUC and the United Church of Canada

SSUC and the United Church of Canada


SSUC ExteriorSSUC Sanctuary

Sydenham Street United Church, constructed in 1852, is a downtown church and city landmark. It’s the limestone church with the tall spire located in historic Kingston, Ontario. The congregation, founded in 1811, was one of the first Methodist congregations in Upper Canada, and is now part of The United Church of Canada.


United Church LogoIn 1925, three Canadian Protestant denominations, the Methodist, Congregationalist, and two-thirds of the Presbyterian churches in Canada amalgamated to create The United Church of Canada through an Act of Parliament. The United Church has a structure of four levels — the local congregation, the district Presbytery, the regional Conference, and the General Council.


Bay of Quinte Conference Logo

The Bay of Quinte Conference, located in south central and eastern Ontario, is one of 13 United Church conferences across Canada. The Conference includes seven presbyteries: Belleville, Cobourg, Kingston, Lindsay, Oshawa, Peterborough and Renfrew.


Four Winds PresbyteryThe Presbyteries within the Conference are in the process of being reorganized. Along with the other congregations in the Kingston Area, SSUC belongs to the Four Winds Presbytery. All ministers must belong to a Presbytery, and each charge is (proportionately by membership) also represented by lay persons.


Affirm UnitedAffirm United is an organization of people of all sexual orientations and gender identities within The United Church of Canada, working to provide the full inclusion of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people in the church and in society. We believe that all people are created in the image of God and are unconditionally loved by God.